SUBCHAPTER 03K - REVERSE MORTGAGES

 

SECTION .0100 - ADMINISTRATIVE

 

04 NCAC 03K .0101          DEFINITIONS; FILINGS

(a)  As used in this Subchapter, unless the context clearly requires otherwise:

(1)           Terms defined in G.S. 53-257 shall have the same meaning as set forth therein;

(2)           "Accounting period" shall mean either a period of 12 months (or less in the first year of operation) ending December 31 or a fiscal year of not more than 12 months (or less in the first year of operation) ending on the last day of any month except December;

(3)           "Application fee" shall mean any fee accepted by an authorized lender or lenders in connection with an application for a reverse mortgage loan including any charge for soliciting, processing, placing or negotiating a reverse mortgage loan.  The term does not include a third-party fee as such term is defined in Subparagraph (a)(8) of this Rule;

(4)           "Certified Financial Statements" shall mean the Statement of Financial Position, Income Statement, Statement of Cash Flows, and Statement of Retained Earnings which have been attested by a certified public accountant;

(5)           "Person" shall mean an individual, corporation, partnership, trust, association, or other entity;

(6)           "Regulation Z" shall mean Regulation Z as promulgated by the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System and codified at 12 CFR Part 226, et seq.;

(7)           "RESPA" shall mean the Real Estate Settlement Procedures Act, codified at 12 USC 2601, et seq.;

(8)           "Third-Party fee" shall mean the fees or charges paid by the borrower for a mortgage loan to the lender for transmittal to third persons who provide services in connection with the mortgage loan, including, but not limited to, recording taxes and fees, reconveyance or releasing fees, appraisal fees, credit report fees, attorney's fees, fees for title reports and title searches, title insurance premiums, surveys and similar charges;

(9)           "Truth In Lending Act" shall mean Title I of the Consumer Credit Protection Act, as amended, and codified at 15 USC 1601, et seq..

(b)  Any application for authorization to make reverse mortgage loans, or any report, annual statement, amendment to application, notice or other document which is required by law or rule shall be filed with the Commissioner of Banks located at 316 West Edenton Street, Raleigh, North Carolina  27603.  The mailing address is 4309 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, North Carolina  27699-4309.

 

History Note:        Authority G.S. 53-257; 53-259; 53-271(a);

Eff. January 1, 1995;

Amended Eff. September 1, 2006.

SECTION .0200 - AUTHORIZATION OF REVERSE MORTGAGE LENDERS

 

04 NCAC 03K .0201          APPLICATION FOR AUTHORIZATION AS A REVERSE MORTGAGE LENDER

(a)  No person shall make reverse mortgage loans pursuant to the Reverse Mortgage Act without first obtaining authorization from the Commissioner.  An application for authorization to make reverse mortgage loans shall be obtained from the Commissioner and shall be filed pursuant to Rule .0101(b) of this Subchapter.

(b)  The following fees shall be submitted with the application for authorization to make reverse mortgage loans:

(1)           A non-refundable application fee made payable to the Commissioner in the amount set forth in G.S. 53-258(b);

(2)           An annual fee made payable to the Commissioner as set forth in G.S. 53-258(d).

(c)  The application shall be in writing and verified by the oath of the applicant.

(d)  The application shall include:

(1)           The applicant's Articles of Incorporation, or General or Limited Partnership Agreement;

(2)           A Certificate of Existence or Certificate of Good Standing, not more than 90 days old, from the applicant's state of incorporation;

(3)           A Certificate of Authority to do business in this State;

(4)           A copy of the applicant's Certificate of Assumed Name;

(5)           Disclosure of any criminal proceedings pending against or criminal convictions entered against the applicant, its partners, directors, principal officers or controlling persons;

(6)           Disclosure of any civil proceedings pending against or civil judgments entered against the applicant, its partners, directors, principal officers or controlling persons which involve fraud or dishonesty;

(7)           Disclosure of any civil judgments entered against the applicant, its partners, directors, principal officers or controlling persons during the past 10 years which have remained partially or wholly unpaid;

(8)           Disclosure of the following proceedings involving the applicant: bankruptcy, assignment for the benefit of creditors, receivership, conservatorship or similar proceeding;

(9)           Disclosure of enforcement proceedings by the Federal Housing Administration, Veterans Administration, Federal National Mortgage Association, or any other federal or state agency against the applicant, its partners, directors, principal officers or controlling persons which involve licensure or business activities as a mortgage broker or mortgage banker;

(10)         A description of the applicant's business operations and organizational structure;

(11)         The addresses at which the applicant intends to engage in business as a reverse mortgage lender, including branch offices and the name of the branch manager at each branch office;

(12)         A description of the business experience, current business activities and education of the applicant, its partners, directors, principal officers and controlling persons;

(13)         Three business references, including one bank reference.

(e)  In addition to the documents and information described in Paragraph (d) of this Rule, the Commissioner may require additional information as necessary to make the findings required by G.S. 53-258 and G.S. 53-271.

(f)  In the event of denial of an application, the Commissioner shall refund in full any annual fee paid pursuant to G.S. 53-258(d).

(g)  Incomplete application files may be closed and deemed denied without prejudice when the applicant has not submitted information requested by the Commissioner within 30 days of the request.

 

History Note:        Authority G.S. 53-258(a),(b),(d); 53-259; 53‑271(a);

Eff. January 1, 1995.

 

04 NCAC 03K .0202          NOTIFICATION OF INTENT TO ENGAGE IN REVERSE MORTGAGE LENDING

Any person not required to obtain authorization as a reverse mortgage lender pursuant to G.S. 53-258(a) shall notify the Commissioner of its intent to engage in reverse mortgage lending.  Notification shall be made on a form obtained from the Commissioner and shall be filed pursuant to Rule .0101 of this Subchapter.

 

History Note:        Authority G.S. 53-258(a)(c); 53-259; 53-271(a);

Eff. January 1, 1995.

 

04 NCAC 03K .0203          CURRENT AUTHORIZED LENDER INFORMATION

(a)  An authorized lender shall notify the Commissioner within 30 days of the effective date of any material changes to the information on file with the Commissioner.

(b)  Notification to the Commissioner of all material changes shall be made on the authorized lender's letterhead and filed pursuant to Rule .0101(b) of this Subchapter.

(c)  For the purposes of this Rule, the term "material" shall mean any information which would be likely to influence the granting of authorization to engage in reverse mortgage lending.  The term "material" shall also include but not be limited to information concerning changes in the address of the authorized lenders, directors, corporate officers, partners, or the business structure.  It shall also include changes in the address of the authorized lender's main or branch offices and any names under which the applicant operates.

 

History Note:        Authority G.S. 53‑258(b),(d); 53-259; 53-271;

Eff. January 1, 1995.

 

04 NCAC 03K .0204          ANNUAL REGISTRATION FEE

(a)  On or before December 31 of each year, each authorized lender shall pay the annual fee set forth in G.S. 53-258(d).

(b)  Failure of an authorized lender to pay the annual fee as of the date specified in Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall be grounds for revocation of its authorization.

 

History Note:        Authority G.S. 53-258(d); 53-259; 53-271(a);

Eff. January 1, 1995.

 

04 NCAC 03K .0205          CERTIFICATE OF AUTHORIZATION

(a)  Upon receipt of a completed application and compliance with Sections .0200 and .0300 of this Subchapter, and payment of the fees, the Commissioner shall investigate the applicant pursuant to G.S. 53-258.  If the Commissioner finds the applicant has met the provisions of G.S. 53-258, the Commissioner shall authorize the applicant as a reverse mortgage lender.

(b)  An authorized lender shall post its Certificate of Authorization in plain view of its customers at its principal office, each of its branch offices in this State and any branch offices outside of this State at which reverse mortgage loans are to be originated or made on residential real property located in North Carolina.

(c)  An authorized lender shall notify the Commissioner of a change in the name under which it operates or the address of its principal office and any branch office as set forth in Paragraph (a) of this Rule.  Notification shall be made at least 30 days prior to the effective date of such change, and shall consist of:

(1)           the new name or address; and

(2)           a reissuance fee of twenty-five dollars ($25.00) per certificate issued payable to the Commissioner.

(d)  Upon receipt of a Certificate of Authorization which contains the new address, an authorized lender shall surrender its former Certificate of Authorization to the Commissioner.

(e)  Failure to surrender the former Certificate of Authorization may result in suspension of authorization as a reverse mortgage lender pursuant to Rule .0702 of this Subchapter.

 

History Note:        Authority G.S. 53-122(3); 53-258(b)(d); 53-259; 53-271(a);

Eff. January 1, 1995.

 

04 NCAC 03K .0206          NONTRANSFERABILITY OF CERTIFICATE OF AUTHORIZATION

(a)  A Certificate of Authorization shall be neither transferrable nor assignable.

(b)  The circumstances under which the Commissioner shall deem a change in the authorized lender's organizational structure to constitute a transfer or assignment of the Certificate of Authorization shall include, but not be limited to, the following:

(1)           If the authorized lender is a corporation:

(A)          A change in ownership of 50% or more of the authorized lender's stock;

(B)          The conversion of the corporation into a general or limited partnership or sole proprietorship.

(2)           If the authorized lender is a general or limited partnership:

(A)          A change in one of the authorized lender's general partners;

(B)          The conversion of the general partnership into a limited partnership, corporation or sole proprietorship;

(C)          The conversion of the limited partnership into a general partnership, corporation or sole proprietorship.

(3)           If the authorized lender is a sole proprietor:

(A)          The conversion of the sole proprietorship into a general or limited partnership or corporation;

(B)          The sale of all of the assets of the authorized lender's business to another person.

(c)  Upon a change in organization as set forth in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, the authorized lender's registration shall become void and the authorized lender shall surrender its Certificate of Authorization to the Commissioner within 30 days of such change.  If the entity which results from the change in the authorized lender's organizational structure would like to engage in business as a reverse mortgage lender in this State, it shall apply for authorization pursuant to Rule .0201 of this Section.

 

History Note:        Authority G.S. 53-258(d); 53-259; 53-271(a);

Eff. January 1, 1995.

 

SECTION .0300 - REQUIREMENTS FOR AUTHORIZATION

 

04 NCAC 03K .0301          MINIMUM NET WORTH REQUIREMENT FOR AUTHORIZED LENDER OR LENDERS

(a)  All authorized lenders shall have, at all times, a net worth of at least five hundred thousand dollars ($500,000).

(b)  For any year in which a lender seeks to rely on the capital of its parent to satisfy the requirements of Paragraph (a) of this Rule, it shall provide to the Commissioner:

(1)           Certified financial statements of the parent showing a net worth of at least one million dollars ($1,000,000) as of the close of its most recent fiscal year; and

(2)           A binding written commitment from the parent to the lender to make a minimum of one million dollars ($1,000,000) available to the lender as a capital contribution in connection with its reverse mortgage lending program.

 

History Note:        Authority G.S. 53-258(b); 53-259; 53-271(a);

Eff. January 1, 1995.

 

04 NCAC 03K .0302          SURETY BONDS

(a)  All authorized lenders shall post a surety bond in the amount of one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000) with the Commissioner which shall run to the benefit of the Commissioner.  The bond shall be executed by an insurance company authorized to do business in North Carolina and not affiliated with the lender.  The bond shall be conditioned upon the authorized lender's compliance with the provisions of Article 21 of Chapter 53 of the General Statutes and all rules adopted thereunder.

(b)  All authorized lenders which are approved by the Commissioner on or after the effective date of this rule shall meet the requirements of this Rule upon approval.  Authorized lenders which were approved by the Commissioner before the effective date of this Rule shall have until March 31, 1995 to comply with this Rule.

 

History Note:        Authority G.S. 53-258(b); 53-259; 53-271(a);

Eff. January 1, 1995.

 

SECTION .0400 - OPERATIONS, NOTIFICATIONS, AND REPORTING

 

04 NCAC 03K .0401          CERTIFIED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

(a)  No later than 90 days after the end of the authorized lender's accounting period, certified financial statements shall be filed with the Commissioner, and shall be filed pursuant to Rule .0101 of this Subchapter.

(b)  Failure of an authorized lender to submit certified financial statements in the manner required by this Rule shall be grounds for revocation of its authorization.

 

History Note:        Authority G.S. 53-259; 53-271(a);

Eff. January 1, 1995.

 

04 NCAC 03K .0402          RECORD AND BOOKKEEPING REQUIREMENTS

(a)  All lenders shall maintain their books and records relating to the making of reverse mortgage loans for a period of three years after payment of the debt in a manner permitting inspection by the Commissioner.

(b)  All financial records required by Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall be prepared in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles.

(c)  An authorized lender shall notify the Commissioner of any change in the location of its books and records.

(d)  In the case of an out-of-state lender, the lender shall designate the Commissioner as agent for service of process in connection with any reverse mortgage loan transaction.

 

History Note:        Authority G.S. 53-259; 53-270; 53-271(a);

Eff. January 1, 1995.

 

04 NCAC 03K .0403          EXAMINATIONS

The Commissioner may make such examination of the books, records and affairs of authorized lenders under Article 21 of Chapter 53 of the General Statutes at such times as he may deem necessary or desirable.

 

History Note:        Authority G.S. 53-259; 53-270; 53-271(a);

Eff. January 1, 1995.

 

04 NCAC 03K .0404          WITHDRAWAL/TERMINATION OF AUTHORIZATION AS REVERSE MTG. LENDER

(a)  An authorized lender shall notify the Commissioner in writing of its decision to cease operations as a reverse mortgage lender in this State within 30 days of such decision.

(b)  An authorized lender shall surrender its Certificate of Authorization to the Commissioner no later than 30 days after it has ceased operations in this State or upon revocation, temporarily or permanently, of the reverse mortgage lender's authorization.

(c)  Failure to comply may result in a fine to the principal officers, partners, directors, controlling persons, pursuant to G.S. 53-271.

 

History Note:        Authority G.S. 53-259; 53-271;

Eff. January 1, 1995.

 

04 NCAC 03K .0405          IMPAIRMENT OF MINIMUM NET WORTH, AND SURETY BOND

(a)  An applicant shall notify the Commissioner in writing if, at any time, it fails to meet the minimum net worth requirements of Rule .0301 of this Subchapter.

(b)  An applicant shall immediately notify the Commissioner in writing of any cancellation or suspension of the surety bond required by Rule .0302 of this Subchapter.

(c)  For the purposes of this Rule, immediately means within three business days of discovery of the failure to meet the minimum net worth, and bonding requirements of Section .0300 of this Subchapter.

(d)  If an applicant fails to meet the minimum net worth, and surety bond requirements, the Commissioner may revoke or suspend authorization of an authorized lender or lender to engage in reverse mortgages.

 

History Note:        Authority G.S. 53-258(b); 53-259; 53-271(a)(c);

Eff. January 1, 1995.

 

SECTION .0500 - DISCLOSURE REQUIREMENTS

 

04 NCAC 03K .0501          REVERSE MORTGAGE LENDER APPLICATION DISCLOSURE

(a)  Authorized lenders shall disclose to the borrower all terms and conditions of the reverse mortgage loan in accordance with the Truth In Lending Act, RESPA, and Regulation Z, and any other applicable federal or state laws and regulations.

(b)  The items required to be disclosed by Paragraph (a) of this Rule may be incorporated into one or more forms required by State or Federal law, rules or regulations, or such items may be contained on a separate form.

 

History Note:        Authority G.S. 53-259; 53-264; 53-265(a); 53-271(a);

Eff. January 1, 1995.

 

04 NCAC 03K .0502          PERMITTED FEES

Prior to the closing of a reverse mortgage loan, the only charge a lender may collect from a borrower is an application fee which must be designated as such and which may not be a percentage of the principal amount of the loan or amount financed.  The fee shall be reasonable and related to the services to be performed.

 

History Note:        Authority G.S. 53-259; 53-270; 53-271(a);

Eff. January 1, 1995.

 

SECTION - .0600 COUNSELING

 

04 NCAC 03K .0601          COUNSELING

The counselor shall provide the authorized lender or lender and borrower with a certificate stating that the borrower has received counseling.

 

History Note:        Authority G.S. 53-259; 53-260; 53-264; 53-271(a);

Eff. January 1, 1995.

 

SECTION .0700 - PROHIBITED ACTS AND PRACTICES; ENFORCEMENT ACTIONS

 

04 NCAC 03K .0701          PROHIBITED ACTS

(a)  For the purposes of G.S. 53-270, the term "material facts" shall mean any term, fact, factor or condition which is likely to influence, persuade or induce a borrower for a reverse mortgage loan to take a particular action.

(b)  All lenders shall be prohibited from using or attaching any property or asset of the borrower, except the real property securing the reverse mortgage loan, in satisfaction of the reverse mortgage obligation.

 

History Note:        Authority G.S. 53-259; 53-270; 53-271(a);

Eff. January 1, 1995.

 

04 NCAC 03K .0702          ENFORCEMENT ACTIONS

The grounds upon which the Commissioner may either revoke or suspend authorization of a lender to engage in reverse mortgage loans shall include, but not be limited to the following:

(1)           The making of any false statement in an application for authorization, if the false statement would have been grounds for denial of the application; or

(2)           The making of any false statement on any form or document requested by the Commissioner; or

(3)           One or more violations of the Reverse Mortgage Act or provisions of this Subchapter; or

(4)           The conviction of any crime which would have a bearing upon the fitness or ability of the authorized lender to conduct its business; or

(5)           The commission of any action which involves dishonesty, fraud, or misrepresentation.  This Subparagraph shall not be construed to apply to bona fide errors.

(6)           The failure to pay the annual fee pursuant to Rule .0204 of this Subchapter.

 

History Note:        Authority G.S. 53-259; 53-270; 53-271(a)(c);

Eff. January 1, 1995.

 

04 NCAC 03K .0703          HEARINGS

All hearings conducted pursuant to this Subchapter or the Reverse Mortgage Act shall proceed in accordance with G.S. 150B and 4 NCAC 3B .0200.  The Commissioner may subpoena witnesses at all such hearings.

 

History Note:        Authority G.S. 53-259; 53-270; 53-271; 53-272;

Eff. January 1, 1995.