(a)  For purpose of this Subchapter the classification of "hospital" shall be restricted to facilities that provide as their functions diagnostic services and medical and nursing care in the treatment of acute stages of illness. On the basis of specialized facilities and services available, the Division shall license each such hospital according to the following medical types:

(1)           general acute care hospital;

(2)           rehabilitation hospital;

(3)           critical access hospital; or

(4)           long term acute care hospital which is a hospital which has been classified and certified as a long term care hospital pursuant to 42 CFR Part 412.

(b)  All other inpatient medical facilities accepting patients requiring skilled nursing services but which are not operated as a part of any hospital within the above meaning shall be considered to be operating as a nursing home and, therefore, are not subject to licensure pursuant to this Subchapter.


History Note:        Authority G.S. 131E-79;

Eff. January 1, 1996;

Amended Eff. June 1, 2005;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. July 22, 2017.