(a)  The Board shall issue one or more standard certificates to each code enforcement official demonstrating the qualifications set forth in 11 NCAC 08 .0706 and .0707. Standard certificates are available for each of the following types of qualified code enforcement officials:

(1)           building inspector;

(2)           electrical inspector;

(3)           mechanical inspector;

(4)           plumbing inspector; and

(5)           fire inspector.

(b)  The holder of a standard certificate may practice code enforcement only within the inspection area and level described upon the certificate issued by the Board. A code enforcement official may qualify and hold one or more certificates. These certificates may be for different levels in different types of positions.

(c)  A code enforcement official holding a certificate indicating a specified level of proficiency in a particular type of position may hold a position calling for that type of qualification anywhere in the State of North Carolina. A standard certificate must be renewed annually in order to remain valid.


History Note:        Authority G.S. 143‑151.13; 143‑151.16;

Eff. January 15, 1980;

Amended Eff. August 1, 2004; August 1, 1990; July 1, 1983;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018.